You can cancel your AdWords account at any time. This will automatically stop all your ads within 24 hours. You'll still need to pay for any accrued costs in your account, though. If you have money left in your account, we'll refund it to your payment method, but refunds can take up to 4 weeks to process.
If you want to use AdWords again in the future, you can reactivate your account at any time, and your details will still be there. You can also access the data in your account after you cancel it because the account is still tied to your email address.
Canceling your AdWords account is different from deleting your Google Account. When you cancel your AdWords account, you stop your ad serving, but you're still able to access the account later. When you delete your Google Account, all products associated with that account will be canceled, and you'll be unable to access the accounts in the future. Your Gmail username will also be deleted and can't be used again in the future. Learn more about deleting your Google Account.
Before you cancel
Canceling your AdWords account has the same effect as pausing your campaigns, with these exceptions:
- When you cancel your account, you can receive a refund for any unused account balance, excluding amounts from promotional offers.
To cancel your account, you need to meet these requirements:
- You have administrative access to your account.
- Billing is set up for your account.
- If you manage an AdWords manager account: You have administrative access to the manager account, you created the managed account you'd like to cancel, and that account has no other administrative users.
If you pay by automatic payments (you're charged automatically after your ads run), here are a couple of things to know about your final AdWords charges:
- If you have campaign activity you haven't paid for yet, you'll receive your final charges within the next 31 days.
- If your last automatic payment didn't go through, then you'll need to pay your outstanding balance before you can cancel your account.
We recommend that you follow these steps before canceling your account:
If you'd like help or optimization tips before canceling your account, contact us. You can also always leave feedback about your AdWords experience.